Here is some basic information on purchasing a Montana fishing license and a link to purchase it.
Please purchase a license BEFORE going out on your trip!
Options include: two-day fishing licenses, 10-day fishing licenses and seasonal fishing licenses.
In most cases, anglers are required to purchase both a conservation license as well as a fishing license, combining both fees.
Resident senior citizens who are 62 years old or older need only purchase the conservation license, as the fishing credential is included.
Additional options include free licenses for Montana residents with permanent disabilities (must still purchase conservation license), as well as reduced-rate licenses for blind Montana residents.
Children ages 14 and younger do not need to buy a fishing license, though Montana resident children between 12 and 14 years old must purchase a conservation license. In this case, the fishing license is included with the conservation license purchase.
Montana fishing licenses must be carried on your person at all times while fishing in state waters. If you are fishing with us, it is required before leaving.
If you are stopped by authorities and cannot provide sufficient licensure, you may be penalized with fines. So ensure that you are properly licensed before heading out to fish.
It is mandatory to have a copy of this license on your person. You are responsible for printing and carrying your license at all times when hunting, fishing, or recreating on state lands.
Purchase a license here: Montana Fishing License
Age 0-11: No license required.
Age 12-17, Over 62, Disabled: 2 day $15 or $20.50 Season
Age 18-61: 2 Day $15 or $31 Season
Age 12+: 2 Day $50, 10 Day $81, $111 Season
Tight Lines to you!